Top Researchers in Computer Science and Informatics


Today the European Research Council announced the 105 recipients of its prestigious advanced research grants in physics and engineering. Eight proposals got selected by the Computer Science and Informatics panel. As I had also applied for an ERC advanced research grant, I followed the results with considerable interest. Given the highly competitive nature of the program and the carefully designed proposal and evaluation procedure, the selected proposals make an interesting reading; the winners are clearly the researchers and projects to watch in the future.

Here is the list of the winners:

  • Dr. Abiteboul Serge, Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique FR, Webdam: Foundations of Web Data Management
  • Prof. Broggi Alberto, University of Parma IT, OFAV: Open intelligent systems for Future Autonomous Vehicles
  • Prof. Ceri Stefano, Politecnico di Milano IT, SeCo: Search Computing
  • Prof. Gaver, William Goldsmiths' College UK, ThirdWaveHCI: Third Wave HCI: Methods, Domains and Concepts
  • Prof. Ghezzi Carlo, Politecnico di Milano IT, SMScom: Self-Managing Situated Computing
  • Prof. Harel David, Weizmann Institute of Science IL, LIBPR: Liberating Programming
  • Prof. Tanenbaum Andrew Stuart, Vrije Universiteit NL, R3S3: Research on Really Reliable and Secure Systems Software
  • Prof. Zisserman Andrew, Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Oxford UK, VisRec: Visual Recognition
It was fun to have competed with these fine scientists. Well done to all!

Comments   Toot! Share

Last modified: Thursday, July 31, 2008 7:28 pm

Creative Commons Licence BY NC

Unless otherwise expressly stated, all original material on this page created by Diomidis Spinellis is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.